Text Transcript: Henrikh Mkhitaryan’s First Interview as a Manchester United Player

897663EB62F941779CD9541281C335B6.ashx
#MkhitaryanIsRed

Interviewer: Henrikh, wlecome. How does it feel to sign for Manchester United?

Mkhitaryan: Thank you very much. I’m very excited. It is a big opportunity for me to play for Manchester. It’s a new challenge for me, I think. I will try to play my best.

Interviewer: How big a factor was Jose Mourinho in your decision?

Mkhitaryan: I think it was one of the facts that I chose Manchester, but also the team – because it’s one of the biggest clubs in the world. So, I couldn’t reject this offer  and I’m very pleased to be here.

Interviewer: And how excited are you to link up with Wayne Rooney, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, and all the other star names we have here?

Mkhitaryan: I think this year the team is gonna be amazing, and it will be a pleasure for me to play next to these guys.

Interviewer: And you come from a sporting family, your father Hamlet played football, how big an influence was he in your career? And how proud would he be right now with what you’ve achieved so far?

Mkhitaryan: When he was playing, I couldn’t understand which kind of sport is football. But after when he passed away, my dream came to become a football player. And I was thinking to continue his job – what he’s done – and hopefully, I’m on my way.

Interviewer: And he would be a very proud man, wouldn’t he? (Mkhi nods yes). You’ve developed your game from your time in Armenia, to the Ukraine, and most recently in Germany with Borussia Dortmund. How has this helped you develop, and do you think you’re at your best right now?

Mkhitaryan: I think, to look back, maybe I did a very long way to come here. But, for me, this is not the highest point that I can reach, I think I can go further and I’m very happy for that because I think I did everything right in my life, and I’m going step-by-step farther.

Interviewer: How big a challenge will the Premier League be for you?

Mkhitaryan: Everyone knows it’s one of the biggest championships in the owrld, and I’m very happy to be part of it.

Interviewer: And did you speak much to Shinji Kagawa, and Adnan Januzaj, when he was at loan at Borussia Dortmund, about Manchester United and the Premier?

Mkhitaryan: We’re very close, he’s one of my friends. Even before to come here, I was always in touch with him. He was asking me are you going to join us or not? I said I don’t know,. But now that I’m here, I think that I will have him as a friend and as a helper.

Interviewer: Absoultely. And how proud does it make you to be the first Armenian to play in the Premier League? What do you think the reaction will be back in your country?

Mkhitaryan: I think everyone was waiting for this transfer there. And I’m very happy that everyone can be proud of me because it is an honour for me to be the first Armenian player in England. So, I will try to keep the expectation.

Interviewer: And is Manchester United a big name in Armenia?

Mkhitaryan: I think it’s one of the biggest.

Interviewer: The first chance we might get to see you in action would be on tour in China. And our first opponents are Borussia Dortmund. What are your feelings ahead of that?

Mkhitaryan: Well, it’s gonna be a little bit strange to meet my teammmates, my ex-teammates. And even in the first game. Maybe I will have some emotions, and I think it would be a little bit weird. But whatever, Manchester is my new team. And I have to get used to it.

Interviewer: We can’t wait. And we can’t wait for the Manchester City game after as well. In fact, the whole tour, the whole experience, will be something new for you. Manchester United is huge in Asia. Are you prepared for what you’re about to see?

Mkhitaryan: I heard about that. But I think I will be ready for this.

Interviewer: It’s gonna be a crazy time, and we wish you all the very best there. What can our fans expect from you this season?

Mkhitaryan: I will try to do my best, I will try to keep working hard and to do the goals and assists that I have done last year, I will try to do this year too.

Interviewer: And before we see you play at Old Trafford, what are your impressions of the ground, and how excited are you to step out onto the ground?

Mkhitaryan: To be honest, I never played in Old Trafford yet. But I think it is one of the most amazing stadiums in the world. For me, it is going to be very very interesting to play for Manchester, and also for the supporters that are going to be in the stadium.

Interviewer: Yeah, we’ve got fantastic fans. And finally, maybe into the camera if you can here, have you got a message for the Manchester United fans that are eagerly anticipating your debut?

Mkhitaryan (into the camera): Dear fans, I will be very glad to see you in the stadium for every game and I will try to do my best to help Manchester winning.

Leave a Reply

